Royal Northern Sinfonia: Brahms and Dvořák

Main House Theatre  |  Friday 17 January

Book Tickets

Rich, Romantic string quintets by Johannes Brahms and Antonín Dvořák are the centre piece of this concert by the musicians of Royal Northern Sinfonia.

Johannes Brahms String Quintet in F major
Antonín Dvořák String Quintet in G major

This was Brahms’ first completed string quintet and he was very proud of it, telling his publisher “you have never before had such a beautiful work from me.” See if you agree.

The first movement of Dvořák’s String Quintet in G major is marked con fuoco (with fire) and sparks will fly with brilliant folky melodies and compelling drama throughout.