Royal Northern Sinfonia: Debussy, Bax & Schubert

Main House Theatre  |  Friday 27 September

Book Tickets

Royal Northern Sinfonia return to The Maltings with a captivating programme of classical music for wind and strings.

Claude Debussy Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp (18’)
Arnold Bax Nonet (21’)
Franz Schubert Octet (63‘)

The first half features two enchanting, impressionistic pieces: Claude Debussy’s delicate Sonata for Flute, Viola, and Harp and Arnold Bax’s lush Nonet (piece for nine instruments). Followed by Franz Schubert’s monumental Octet for clarinet, bassoon, horn and string quintet.

You’ll be swept away by the sheer joy of this symphony disguised as chamber music, as bold and breathtaking as any piece for full orchestra.